First bow (hand-me-down) - Draw weight?

How to's, questions, and build alongs for those who enjoy the craft of building traditional bows.
Forum rules
No selling of traditional bows you manufactured. Only sponsors are allowed to post new bows for sale.
putnamm

First bow (hand-me-down) - Draw weight?

#1 Post by putnamm »

Hi. I am an experienced woodworker and have been curious about bow making for a while now. I own and have read the Clay Hayes book, I watch quite a few videos, etc.

Recently a friend and fellow woodworker handed down a couple of hickory staves that he wasn't doing anything with. One was a solid stave. The other was actually a near-finished bow that he said just needed some fine tuning to get it right. I haven't done a whole lot with this one other than use a scraper to take a tiny bit of material off in areas where my draw tests indicated it was stiff.

The problem I am having is with drawing the bow itself. Now...I'm a grown*ss man. But I'm not what you would call "beefy." In fact, I'm pretty skinny. I don't work out... Anyway, when I draw this bow I do not get what I would call a full draw length out of it. I just can't draw it back that far. I have measured my own draw length, and it's about 28.5 inches. I don't think I'm getting anywhere near that with this bow. When drawing, my arm is not anywhere close to straight, and my bow arm muscles must work to keep the bow drawn (rather than using the structure of my arm's bones to do this, which I understand is proper technique). Basically, I can't draw the bow fully.

Here are the hickory bow's measurements:
- 71" long
- The limbs are 1.5" wide each at the midpoint between the handle's center and the knocks. At this same point the limbs are .5" thick.
- Knocks are .75" wide.
- An arrow shelf is cut in about 1" above the handle's center.