What happened to fletching glue?

How to's, questions, and build alongs for those traditional archers who are interested in building their own custom arrows.
Forum rules
This area strictly for arrows. Building, flight or broadhead flight.
Carpdaddy
Site Admin

What happened to fletching glue?

#1 Post by Carpdaddy »

I have been using the tape for many years now but mine got old and instead of ordering more I thought I would just pick up a tube of glue locally, yea right! I use to pick it up at any of the local department stores but none of them carry it anymore. Finally in a nearby town I found what I considered to be a baby tube. Last big tube I bought was around $3, I paid more this time for a tube that wouldn't fletch a half dozen arrows! And it ended up being super glue! :roll: Finally found a big boy tube in a sporting goods store but I sure had to pay for it. On wood I always used duco which I picked up for a buck locally, don't know if that is still possible or not. So what are you guys using and where do you get it?

Captainkirk
Site Admin

Re: What happened to fletching glue?

#2 Post by Captainkirk »

I'm using the tape but gluing the ends down with Fletch-Tite...available at Bass Pro, or 3Rivers, or Lancaster, or....
Aim small, miss small!

alphamale

#3 Post by alphamale »

hey there carpdad, i been yusing crazy glue for the last 10 years, works as good as any fletching glue out there, the best one i found so far is gorilla super glue, for bout 4 dollars at wall mart you can fletch 4 ta 5 dozen arrows, hope this helps,,ALPHAMALE

Graps

#4 Post by Graps »

I've used the super glue as well .
It holds good but on my poly woods there is a clouding of the finish along the feathers .
"Maybe the truly handicapped people are the ones that don't need God as much." ~ Joni Eareckson Tada

Carpdaddy
Site Admin

#5 Post by Carpdaddy »