Ok, what am I missing here....

How to's, questions, and build alongs for those traditional archers who are interested in building their own custom arrows.
Forum rules
This area strictly for arrows. Building, flight or broadhead flight.
Shadowhntr

Ok, what am I missing here....

#1 Post by Shadowhntr »

Well, I got the carbon arrow going, and I been planning on getting more soon. In the mean time, im checking and rechecking trying to make sure its right. In the process, I started shooting my lone 500 carbon, with a handful of woods I have that are mainly 680gr-710gr....one is the exception at 740gr. Anyway, in shooting the woods and carbon together, im not really seeing a big difference in flight, speed, and accuracy...but Im seeing just a smidgen better penetration on average but its not much. I dont really know what to look for in carbon advantage, other then resilience . I wont know for some time in that dept. I guess im saying so far, im not really seeing the advantage, am I missing something? The only other thing I can think of, is carbon allows me to get 28% FOC at a mere 650gr total weight. Of course there is the issue of being more simple and less time to build then woods...I also save time fletching because I go through a riga-ma-roar on woods to time the arrows face grain on top and botton as well as getting the cock feather on top in 12 o'clock position. Its easy as turning the nock on a carbon. I like the carbon, but im just not seeing big differences in it and wood....maybe not enough to give up the woods. I mean they are flying just as good.....comments please ?
The element of surprise can never be replaced by persistence.

Carpdaddy
Site Admin

Re: Ok, what am I missing here....

#2 Post by Carpdaddy »

I thought you presented a pretty good argument there on the last for Carbon, at least you named some advantages I like. :lol: All in all to me it's first the ease but mainly the fact that I break a lot less of them! :mrgreen:

Captainkirk
Site Admin