Ground blinds

Share your deer hunting knowledge, give tips on how to hunt deer. Ask any questions you may have about deer hunting.
Forum rules
Please stick to deer hunting tips and tactics in this forum.
Cody2306

Ground blinds

#1 Post by Cody2306 »

I see there are a few topics on blinds and tree stands. I have no experience in the woods but I def want to get out there. Tree stand is out of the question because I don't have any experience with those and I do t want to get hurt. I don't know anybody who hunts so I will be figuring everything out on my own. I'm gonna go the ground route. But I'm seening pop up blinds . And I'm seeing these mirrors you set up to hide you and I was thinking something like that with a ghillie suite and maybe a ghillie blanket and make a blind like that. I was interested in hearing some ground blind strategies and maybe some photos of halls set ups. Does anybody use the mirrors or maybe ghillie suites and make a. A rural blind

Carpdaddy
Site Admin

Re: Ground blinds

#2 Post by Carpdaddy »

My hunting partner creates some nice ground blinds using natural cover and brush around a fallen tree, trunk, or group of close trees. I have a hub blind and he has a couple, very effective on Turkey. For deer they need to be brushed in some or left up long term. I personally think that movement is what gives us away most of the time, be still or be seen. That's how we spot a deer; when they move! So my thinking is that it's doesn't take as much if you don't move so much. But I'm not one of those people, my head is back and forth like a Wal-Mart greeter! So I must climb or conceal.

Cody2306

#3 Post by Cody2306 »

Haha nice. I can't wait to play in the woods. I still got to get a few things together but soon. I'm trying to get a strategy together so I know what I need to do

Shadowhntr

#4 Post by Shadowhntr »