New to the Forum

Bigmagic1960

New to the Forum

#1 Post by Bigmagic1960 »

Hi Everyone,
I'm a retired corrections officer from the State Prison of Southern Michigan after 28 years. I'll be 60 in February. I've been hunting and shooting since I was about 8 years old when I started following my dad around in the woods. About 20 years ago, my neighbor was having a garage sale and he had a #70 Martin Mountaineer ML-14. I didn't know anything about traditional archery but he sold the bow and about 50 arrows for $75.00. I immediately got the longbow bug. At first I couldn't pull it back too well due to strength. Then I was told by someone on one of the forum that I would never learn to shoot the bow accurately due to hand shock. After almost 3 years of almost daily practice, 3 whitetails have taken dirt baths from it. Now I have 8 longbows and 4 recurves. I've been thinking about trying my hand at field archery competitions. Not so much that I like to win, but rather just hanging around a bunch of people shooting longbows and recurves. I still prefer my ML-14. She's a lovely weapon. I look forward to reading about other people's shooting adventures and advice. I believe one is never too old to learn.
Hunt Hard, Hunt Smart, and Hunt Often, and don't let life pass you idley by.

Carpdaddy
Site Admin

Re: New to the Forum

#2 Post by Carpdaddy »

Welcome from Kentucky, glad to have you here, welcome to my age next month, I look forward to getting to know you! :D

Hill billy

#3 Post by Hill billy »

Congratulations on retiring and we’re glad you found tradhunter. Welcome from Arkansas

Greg Felty

#4 Post by Greg Felty »

Welcome from another Michigander.We have a indoor trad league that shoots on Tuesdays in Brownstown you are welcome to come and shoot with us.
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Elkman
Site Admin

#5 Post by Elkman »

Hi Dan,

Welcome from Corvallis, Montana.